Popcornversation: I AM…

I am Afia (Nandita Das). My husband ditched me for a girl he claims to be in love with. All I wanted from him was a child. The relationship died a merciless death, but the desire to procreate prevailed. It is this wish of bearing a child that gives me a reason to move on and live a life without men. I seek a doctor’s help (Anuraag Basu) to opt for artificial insemination. Unlike other women, I don’t want a faceless sperm donor, but want to know the man, who he is, what he looks like, what are his hobbies, who are in his family, etc. Will I find him? They say why bear a child when you can adopt one? I am  self-reliance in the woman in you.

I am Megha (Juhi Chawla). Legend has it that Adam and Eve were driven out of paradise by God. I am a Kashmiri Pandit, one among the many to be driven out of this so-called paradise, Kashmir, by people who kill in the name of God. My friend Rubina (Manisha Koirala) stayed back and paid the price of doing so, by living a life of hell. Her brother turned terrorist and finally surrendered after becoming as good as dead. I hate her and I hate everything about Kashmir, who snatched my identity away and brutally killed my uncle. I am happy being away from this land that swallows humans and spits out demons. I am the angst in you.

I am Abhimanyu (Sanjay Suri). They say pictures speak a thousand words. How true! My family picture yells choicest of abusive words every time I glance at it. My stepfather (Anurag Kashyap) is in the hospital, he may die or he may survive. It doesn’t really matter to me.  My girlfriend (Radhika Apte) won’t understand me until I tell her what it means to be sodomised by stepfather. I used him, he used me. Fair enough, isn’t it? I found my ticket to freedom in the Film & Television Institute’s form and went on to become a documentary filmmaker. Will I ever be able to start afresh? I am the hope in you.

I am Omar (Rahul Bose). Call me gay or homosexual, but please don’t call me abnormal. I am as normal as you. Just like you, I experience attraction, I fall in love with Jai (Arjun Mathur), I feel pain, I, too, get hurt when betrayed. But I pay the price of being what I am. I  grease the palms of a cop (Abhimanyu Singh), get hit and abused by him and even suck him – all because I am different. I am the victim in you.

I am Amit Trivedi. I have teamed up with two brilliant lyricists – Amitabh Bhattacharya and Amitabh Verma and scored songs like ‘Bangur jaisi duniya’, Isi baat pe’, ‘Bojhal si’, ‘Aankhein’, which will resonate with the emotions you have always felt but never been able to articulate. ‘Saaye saaye’ is a track that will linger on your mind while you are driving your way to home after watching this film. I am the connoisseur in you.

I am Onir. I had always dreamt of directing this film, which is based on real life incidents, but had no funds to do so. I put up the concept on Facebook and garnered a resounding response from everyone, so much so that 400 people across the globe agreed to become co-producers of this film.  Amit Trivedi, Vivek Philip and Rajiv Bhalla scored the background music. Arvind Kannabiran, the cinematographer captured my dream in his lens. Irene Dhar Malik joined me to edit the film . I am the audience in you.

Leave a Reply

